Home > Adobe, CS5, Photoshop > Adobe Photoshop Brush Basics: A Primer on Brush Anatomy

Adobe Photoshop Brush Basics: A Primer on Brush Anatomy

It just occurred to me that brushes are SUPER CONFUSING in Photoshop because everything is called brushes! To make things a little easier, I’m now very conscientiously calling them as either as a Brush (Tool) or a Brush (Tip). And I made a chart (I hope it makes sense).

  • Using a Photoshop Brush requires the selection of a Brush (Tool) and a Brush (Tip).
  • Brush (Tips): Determine the shape of the brush. There are 3 types of Brush Tips: Standard, Pattern, and Bristle. All other Brush Settings are the Same.
  • Brush (Tools): Determine the type of mark the brush makes. Many tools, such as the cloning tool, eraser tool, use brush (tips) and can be considered brushes.
  • Brush Preset: Saves the settings of the Brush (Tip).
  • Tool Presets: Saves the settings of both the Brush (Tip) PLUS the Brush (Tool).

  1. 2011/03/17 at 11:16 am

    I’ve been using Photoshop for around 15 years now, and I only just figured out how to make changes to the brush (tip) settings. In my defense, it is true I didn’t have a need before. (I created a custom background for my twitter account.)

    A diagram like this one would have enticed me to “come out and play” much sooner. This is good info. Now that I’ve found your blog, I’ll return often. Thanks.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

