Home > Adobe, Creative Suite, CS4, CS5, Illustrator, InDesign, Photoshop > Organize Illustrator/InDesign Layers with Unicode Characters

Organize Illustrator/InDesign Layers with Unicode Characters

Use Unicode Characters to help organize layers. I color code mine too.

I’ve wanted Illustrator and InDesign to be able to put layers into groups (folders) for a long time, but it keeps not happening. So I’ve been naming my laers methodically so it appears organized and hierarchical and I realized today that I can totally copy and paste unicode characters to help me do this.

  • Photoshop has Layer Groups
  • Illustrator does not have Layer Groups
  • Illustrator has, instead, Sublayers
  • Sublayers != Layer Groups
  • InDesign, starting with CS5, has Sublayers
  • Adobe is probably not going to give InDesign and Illustrator Layer Groups anytime soon ☹.
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

